Skip to content

Kuntzman wins ISBE’s Those Who Excel and Teacher of the Year award


Karen Kuntzman

TAYLORVILLE — Karen Kuntzman, Taylorville CUSD#3 North School Principal has won the 2023 Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year Award.

Since 1970, the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has sponsored the Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year program to honor educators who have made significant contributions to the state’s public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. Awards are presented in seven categories: classroom teachers, early career educators (teachers 1-4 years), administrators, school support personnel,  educational service personnel, community volunteers and teams.

Application materials are evaluated by a selection committee composed of individuals who represent a variety of educational organizations.

All awardees are honored at an annual banquet in the Spring.

Leave a Comment