Skip to content

TJHS sending twelve athletes to State 

MT ZION — The Taylorville Jr. High School boys and girls track and field teams took to Mt. Zion High School for the IESA 4A Sectional. Starting on Saturday, May 13, the meet had to be postponed until Monday, May 15, due to storms. The meet sent 12 young athletes to the IESA 4A State Track and Field Championship. 


The TJHS boys were headlined by Liam Bettis who qualified for three separate events at the State level; 1600m run (First place; 4:43.19), 800m dash (First place; 2:02.43) as well as the 4x400m relay. Other members of the 4x400m team are Eli Ellis, Garrett Lahman, Jayden Lash and Joseph Goodman. The 8th grade relay team reached ninth place with a total time of 3:55.06. 

Brock Walton is also headed to State for the eighth grade boys shot put event. Walton tossed his Shot Put 42-02.50 earning him a second place finish at Sectionals.  

Sticking with the eighth graders Connor Hunsley secured a spot for the boyd discuss event. He earned fourth place with a distance of 124-04 a new personal best.

For the seventh graders, Logan Barry advanced to State with his toss of the Discus. He earned a fifth place finish with a total distance of 108-10.50 which was a new personal best. 


On the girls side of the coin, eighth grader Elsie Williamson earned a spot in the discus event. She tossed the disk 109-2.50 securing a first place spot. Williamson is a multi-state qualifier and was a State Champion in 2022. 

Seventh grader Gianna Tarr also is headed to State for throwing the Shot Put. She tossed her shot put 30-02.00 PR and earned a third place Sectional finish.

Elayna Harker pole vaulted her way into the IHSA State meet with a height of 7-00.00 which earned her third amongst seventh graders. 

Seventh grader Julie Wayman gave a dominant performance in the seventh grade shot put event, launching her steel ball 27-11.00.


The IHSA Class 4A State Track and Field meet will be held at the Eastside Center in East Peoria on Friday, May 19 and will wrap up on Saturday, May 20.     

[Corrected May 17 to include Julie Wayman.]

Leave a Comment